

Grain Trade Australia Limited Level 11, 56 Pitt Street Sydney NSW 2000 PO Box R1829 Royal Exchange NSW 1225

## **Member Update**

**Appointment of GTA Technical Committees for 2010/2011** Title:

**Update No.:** 33 of 10

**25 November 2010 Date of Issue:** 

### Distribution

GTA Members – primary contact list. Please circulate to all appropriate internal parties

#### **Purpose of this notice** 1

This notice alerts Members of the new Board appointments to Grain Trade Australia's Technical Committees.

#### **Background** 2

The Board of GTA have carefully considered all applications from the GTA Membership and have appointed the 2010/2011 Technical Committees on their merits.

#### **Positions Sought** 3

Nominations were sought for the following GTA Technical Committees by way of Member update No 23 of 10 Election of Members to GTA Technical Committees 28 September 2010.

- Biotechnology
- Commerce
- Standards
- Transport, Storage & Handling

#### **GTA Technical Committee - Selection Guidelines** 4

- The GTA Technical Committees are **skills based** Committees. The Board appoint Committee Members based on the applicant's technical competency whilst mindful that the relevant Committee should, where possible, have representation from:
  - all sectors across the grain supply chain affected by the decisions of the Committee;
  - large and small organisations; and
  - all major grain production/trading states.
- GTA Technical Committees meet approximately 5 to 6 times per year via teleconference. Members are responsible for their own telephone call costs.
- All Committees are chaired by a GTA Board member.
- GTA Committee members agree to participate on a Committee for the benefit of all members of
- They do not represent the interests of an industry sector or a private or public organisation.
- GTA Committee Members are elected annually by the Board.

#### List of GTA Technical Committees for 2010/2011 5

	Committee	Organisation	Category
	Biotechnology		
1.	Rob Parkes	Chair	Board Appointment
2.	Mark Swift	NSWFA	Production
3.	Gary Flohr	SAFF	Production
4.	Andrew Weidemann	VFF	Production
5.	Pat Wilson	GrainCorp	Bulk Handler
6.	Geoff Masters	Cargill Australia	Grain trading
7.	David Hudson	SGA Solutions	Industry consultant
8.		AOF	Industry Organisation
9.		AGEA	Industry Organisation

	Committee	Organisation	Category
	Commerce	, in the second	
1.	Phillip Holmes	Chair	Board Appointment
2.	Mark McKay	Grain Growers Association	Production
3.	Nick Taylor	NSWFA	Production
4.	Jamie Smith	SAFF	Production
5.	Alick Osborne	Louis Dreyfus	Grain trading
6.	Darryl Borlase	Elders Toepfer	Grain trading
7.	Brendan Dart	Cargill	Grain trading
8.	Geoff Farnsworth	M&K	Grain trading
9.	Doug Fimmell	AWB	Grain trading
	Standards		
1.	Rob Parkes	Chair	Board Appointment
2.	Michael Schaefer	SAFF	Production
3.	Chris Kelly	Grain Growers Association	Production
4.	Adrian Reginato	AWB	Bulk handler
5.	Pat Wilson	GrainCorp	Bulk handler
6.	Jeanette Marszal	Viterra	Bulk handler
7.	Vince Moroney	СВН	Bulk handler
8.	Anyou Liu	CBH Grain	Grain trading
9.	Dai Suter	George Weston	Food consumptive
10.	Geoff Clatworthy	Inghams Enterprises	Feed consumptive
11.	Andrew Wheeler	Intertek Aust	Superintendence
12.	Jon Slee	GIWA	Ind. Org.
13.	John Frances	QAM	Ind. Org.
	Transport		
	Jim Riordan	Chair	Board Appointment
1.	Peter Tuohey	VFF	Production
2.	Daniel Cooper	Grain Growers Association	Production
3.	Philip Wilsdon	SAFF	Production
4.	Matthew Kelly	Kelly and Sons	Grain trading
5.	Geoff Deacon	QAM	Grain trading
6.	Gavin Cavanagh	Viterra	Bulk handler
7.	Kayla Le Cornu	GrainCorp	Bulk handler
8.	Andrew Witney	AWB	Bulk handler
9.	Antony Borgese	Cargill	Grain trading
10.	Mark O'Brien	George Weston Foods	Grain trading

# **6** To View the GTA Technical Committees

A list of GTA Technical Committees is also available on the GTA website: <a href="mailto:graintrade.org.au/committees">graintrade.org.au/committees</a>